1 year working in Venture Capital


I am happy to officially announce that earlier this year I joined Tomahawk VC, it is public knowledge but I haven't had the opportunity to announce it properly and share the future plans. 

As a member of the investment team. I will be working on pre-seed/seed investments, portfolio management and investment strategy. This next step in my career has accelerated my aspirations to build a career in venture capital/private equity.

I’ve been investing and raising capital for startups for the last 7 years as an angel or through syndicates, with a focus on the “new economy”. Crypto, fintech, sports, entertainment, proptech, insurtech. This was all building towards a greater vision and goals. My knowledge, experience, skills and network have grown dramatically since the first startup syndicate I was involved with but even more since I watched the documentary piqued my curiosity “Something Ventured” in 2016, it gave me an insight into what was possible with venture capital and I have always wanted to join a venture capital firm and be a part of that history. 

Background on Tomahawk VC.

The firm was started by Cedric Waldburger & Claude Donze, Tomahawk VC is an early-stage investor headquartered in Zurich. 2 years on the company has 9 people including a new Partner in Massimo Scheappi focused and dedicated to Fintech. Tomahawk.VC presented me with the opportunity to be a part of something far bigger than myself.

Joining a venture capital firm at this stage in my life/career is exactly what I need to motivate me and push me to continue to achieve. 

Here are 3 reasons why I am joining Tomahawk.VC:

  1. People matter — Luckily, I have built great relationships all around the world and one of them happens to be a successful VC investor named Cedric Waldburger. We’ve spent some time, and shared family, personal and business memories together. The one thing I can say is I have always been inspired to do more when I am with Cedric. When Cedric told me he was starting Tomahawk.VC in 2019, I was very interested in supporting the growth but unfortunately at the time, I had many other commitments. 2021 started a new phase for me, I dialled down my commitments and decided that I wanted to really make my mark, the business that made the most sense was venture capital. Considering I have years of investing, startup building and networking experience. There was an opportunity to join the team as a Venture Scout and took the chance to work with some great people. Over the last few weeks, I have had the pleasure of catching up with Massimo Schaeppi, Claude Donze and the rest of the team. What a smart bunch of people with whom I look forward to working. 

  2. Timing is everything — I’ve been preparing myself for something like this for a long time, personally investing in startups, raising capital, meeting new founders and building a network from scratch. In the past things have gone wrong which is great because that has taught me a lot. Previously I have said that I want to join an organisation in which I can have youthful energy but have a higher level of maturity to bring a lot of value to the table. Now is the perfect time for this, in both Tomahawk’s cycle and my own.
     
  3. Opportunity to impact the world — I approached Cedric about the idea of joining Tomahawk.VC was on the notion that the plan was to invest in startups that want to change the world. He showed me this article and I was convinced that the future is bright and that I had to be a part of it. In life, you only get a few chances to make an impact and this is one of them. Especially considering our model is not financial only, we look to be the best business partners for our portfolio companies. This means we will be contributing to society, the economy and the ecosystem. 

My initial role at Tomahawk.VC will be as I make the transition from Entrepreneur to VC. I am looking to meet with the founders of Fintech/Defi companies across Europe. Additionally, I have a further focus on UK/IE and other English-speaking nations. 

If you are a founder in this space or know any founders in this space please reach out to connor@tomahawk.vc

Let’s have a quick chat 

Stay Hungry

Connor